healthy cooking: greek pasta

Although I have my own rolodex of recipes I follow and some I learn as I watch my mother cook, I often times borrow recipes from some of my favorite bloggers.

Here’s one I absolutely love and of course found here. But just in case you don’t really want to click away from my blog, I have detailed the recipe below for you to consider trying.

Greek Pasta:
Recipe and photos by For the Love of Cooking.net
  • 2 tbsp toasted pine nuts
  • Angel hair pasta, cooked per instructions
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 small red onion, diced
  • Handful of grape tomatoes
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Handful of kalamata olives, halved
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • Feta cheese
Toast the pine nuts in a DRY skillet over medium heat for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown. Set aside.
Cook the pasta per instructions. While the pasta is cooking, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Once the pan is hot, add the onion and cook, stirring often, for 3-4 minutes. Add the grape tomatoes, oregano, red pepper flakes, sea salt, and freshly cracked pepper, to taste. Cook for 1-2 minutes. Add the minced garlic and kalamata olives then cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Add the chicken broth and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the cooked and drained noodles to the skillet as well as the spinach and pine nuts. Toss to coat and cook for 1 minute until the spinach wilts a little bit. Taste and re-season with sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste. Add the feta cheese then toss and serve immediately. Enjoy.


Leave a Reply

